St. John's Elementary School

Nature Center - Darlington, SC

140 Park Street
Darlington, SC 29532
Principal: Jean Taylor

Darlington County, SC - "The Pearl of the Pee Dee"

School History

A work in progress!

SC Historical Marker 16-51
U.S. Hwy. 52 near N. Main St., Darlington

(Front) In the summer of 1865, just after the end of the Civil War, Federal troops began their occupation of many cities and towns in S.C. Units in Darlington in 1865-66 included the 15th Maine Infantry, 29th Maine Veteran Volunteers, 1st Maine Battalion, and 30th Massachusetts Veteran Volunteers. They camped on the grounds of the nearby St. John’s Academy and used it as a hospital. (Reverse) Four Federal privates (Patrick Gately and Ira J. Newhall of the 15th Maine and George Kinney and John Maloney of the 29th Maine) who died of disease while stationed in Darlington in 1865-66 were originally buried nearby. This area was called “Yankee Hill” for many years. Their remains were later removed and reburied at Florence National Cemetery.
Erected by the Darlington County Historical Commission, 2002

Home | About US | Darlington Schools | Pee Dee RC&D | Darlington SWCD | Darlington County

Copyright (c) 2000, 2001, 2002 Pee Dee Resource Conservation and Development Council.
This page was last updated on November 7, 2002.


Website Development

Send E-mail

Please feel free to email us if you have any comments, suggestions, or questions.